We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 1 Posts
    Hey I’m having trouble finding the specific information needed for windows IIS installation.
    I’m still trouble shooting the install and would like to make it work.
    I can’t seem to track down anything, or i’ve just missed it.
    Putting windows iis install or whatever in the forum search just brings back be more specific... how to use the search better for one thing too then.
    But just post me the links I’ll dig.
    Specifically now I can’t log in to the manager, I managed to get the latest install, I’m going to have to deal with what exactly needs write permissions, that’s such a gray area, making it easy to give up all together, but I’m stuck with windows hosting, in my work environment for one. I’m not a developer by trade just a designer.
    thanks for any roadMaps all ya’all.
    I think maybe I could google the forum’s better than the site search seems to be working, maybe I’ll try that.

Wow... no responses at all so far...
    I can’t log in to my manager section, it’s really just the second glitch in my install, no doubt there will be more on my host, I’ll try to push through it but without some suggestions I’m sure I’ll have no luck.

Can anybody clarify any of these comments regarding write permissions and cache issues:
    That config file is the latest version (0.9.2.1). It is a permanent file that MODx uses every time it connects to the database (meaning constantly), but it never needs to be written to again as long as the database connection info stays the same. I’ve uploaded these manually many times instead of using the installer to write them and it’s never caused a hiccop.