We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 40 Posts
    Hello guys.

Some of you might know me from IRC, some of you might not know me at all. I've been using Modx for about three years now and I also consider myself somewhat active in the community (at IRC and over at Github at least). I've always wanted to become more active in these forums, but every time I visit them I get the same thought almost instantly: "what a frikkin' mess!".

The forum is structured in a way that does not work at all, there are no moderators that activly move/close/migrate/split threads and there is no clear indications where certan stuff should be posted.

For example:

• Revo/Evo got both discussion and support in the same subforum.
    • Revo/Evo has subforums for each version, but these are almost not used at all. Also Revo is lacking a subforum for 2.3 for some reason.
    • People ask for help in the General Discussions-forum (where this is posted). I thought this forum was for "everything else"
    • What is the difference between the 'Revo/Evo Discussions & Support' and 'Revo/Evo Development'? People post same kind of questions in both.
    • The [SIG]-subforums have no activity and just spreads posts even more.
    • Internationalization is a subforum under Around the world, when most other subforums are for one language, not the Internationalization-implementation in Modx.

What I suggest:

- Producs
    -- General Modx Talk (talk about modx in general, no help, no support, just 'what is up with modx')
    -- Modx3 (just to have a place to discuss the next big step)
    -- Revo Support (ask for help here)
    -- Revo Discussions (NO help or support, just general discussion about the CMS)
    -- Revo Core Development (where is Revo heading etc)
    -- xPDO (support, discussions, development all in the same subforum)
    -- Evo Support (ask for help here)