We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 6 Posts
    I have just inherited a ModX Evo 1.0.3 site. The site was moved, including the database, and was renamed all of which was successful. I have been able to do the editing the client wishes but now I can no longer see the editing pages. Sometimes if I upload the /assets/cache/siteCache.idx.php the editing page will show up but as soon as I save, it disappears again. I have looked on the forum and have not found an answer that works. I am a newbie with ModX but not with PHP or databases. Thanks for any help.

This question has been answered by iusemodx. See the first response.

• 953 Posts
      Standard questions first:

• Have you updated the config.inc.php with the new data - database name etc. ?
      • Have you cleared site (login -> Site tab -> Clear Cache) and browser cache ?
      • Have you made modifications to the .htaccess file in the root ?
      • Are you using FURLs' (Friendly URLs) ?
      • Are you working online or local and then re-uploading the database ?
      • Are you getting any errors either front-end or in the manager logs ?
      • What version of PHP is on the server ?

The siteCache.idx.php is generated via the manager - you can in theory delete both the:

• sitePublishing.idx.php
      • siteCache.idx.php

The next time you log back into the system they will be generated again.

Have you tried updating the site yet ?

1.0.3 is donkeys old and should be updated to the latest version for obvious reasons [ed. note: iusemodx last edited this post 8 years, 9 months ago.]
        • 6 Posts
        Hi - I do not see my last reply in the thread so I will do it again!

• config file updated
        • Cleared both site and browser cache