We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 3 Posts
    Hello. I'm new to MODX and learning as I go. I am in the process of moving a MODX Evo 1.0.6 site from a locally hosted server, to a subfolder in a Godaddy hosting account. I uploaded the site files, created the Godaddy database, imported the database, updated the database username, PW, hostname, and site sessionname. The Home page is coming up okay on the Goddady server, but clicking on any of the other menu items changes the URL, but the page content does not change, and the Home menu item stays highlighted. I didn't clear the cache before moving the site, but did so after the site was moved from within Manager. After many hours of research, I uploaded the installation files for MODX Evo 1.0.6 and did an upgrade installation. The config.inc.php file seems to be okay. Also, the site is still live on the old locally hosted server and when doing an A-B comparison, all of the element settings appear to be the same. It seems like everything is there and maybe I just need to update a couple settings, but I am not sure where to start. I'm also not sure if it is an issue related to being in a subfolder instead of the root directory.

The base path appears to be okay as the physical path on the webserver. The base URL is /, not sure if that should be /subfolder/.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Larry
      • 953 Posts
      Base href tag in the HTML source e.g.
      <head>
      <base href="[(site_url)]">
      </head>

OR
      <head>
      <base href="[(base_url)]">
      </head>

If you have installed the site in a folder you may need to modify the .htaccess file as such e.g.
      RewriteEngine On
      RewriteBase /

To:
      RewriteEngine On
      RewriteBase /yourfoldername
        • 953 Posts
        You will also have to reset the configuration in the manager:

Tools => Configuration => File Manager

Reset the File Manager Path