We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 34183
    • 23 Posts
    The issue is that when I uncheck the "Empty Cache" checkbox and save the resource, then reload my page, the checkbox becomes checked again. It doesn't seem to save in the unchecked state.

    I can't tell if this is a bug or if I have something strange set in my System Settings that is overriding the resource level setting.

    Has anyone else had this issue? Should I enter it as a bug?

    Revo 2.2.4-pl mysql 5.1.52 PHP 5.3.3
      • 23491 ☆ A M B ☆
      • 1,056 Posts
      Yes, I have seen this issue. I believe if you upgrade to Revo 2.2.6-pl this issue is no longer present, not to mention known security updates.

      Revolution 2.2.6—Template Update Fix and More

      Download Revolution 2.2.6-pl

      UPDATE:

      My apologies, I thought you were referring to this issue:
      Changing Template no longer unsets Empty Cache for Resource
      [ed. note: pixelchutes last edited this post 13 years, 8 months ago.]
        Mike Reid - www.pixelchutes.com
        MODx Ambassador / Contributor
        [Module] MultiMedia Manager / [Module] SiteSearch / [Snippet] DocPassword / [Plugin] EditArea / We support FoxyCart
        ________________________________
        Where every pixel matters.
        • 18373 ☆ A M B ☆
        • 3,141 Posts
        The empty cache (aka "syncsite") button isn't something that gets saved; it's something that only indicates if you want the cache to clear at that point. If you want to disable it by default, I think you'll need a plugin..
          Mark Hamstra • Developer spending his days working on Premium Extras and a MODX Site Dashboard with the ability to remotely upgrade MODX and extras to make the MODX world a little better.

          Tweet me @mark_hamstra, check my infrequent blog at markhamstra.com, my slightly more frequent ramblings at MODX.today or see code at Github.
          • 34183
          • 23 Posts
          Hmm, I still have this issue, even tested with a fresh install of 2.2.6-pl.

          Quote from: markh at Jan 16, 2013, 12:31 PM
          The empty cache (aka "syncsite") button isn't something that gets saved; it's something that only indicates if you want the cache to clear at that point.
          I don't necessarily need it disabled by default, however, when I disable it and save the resource, I expect it to stay disabled.

          Can someone else test this and see if it is occurring in another environment?

          Reproduction Steps:

          1. Go to a resource's Settings tab
          2. Uncheck "Empty Cache"
          3. Save the resource
          4. Refresh the page
          5. Go to the resources Settings tab

          Expected behavior: "Empty Cache" should be unchecked
            • 3749
            • 24,544 Posts
            What you're seeing is the expected behavior. There's no resource field to store that value so it doesn't persist.

            The CacheMaster plugin will uncheck it by default for Resources and clear the cache for just that Resource. A future version may uncheck it by default for elements as well.
              Did I help you? Buy me a beer
              Get my Book: MODX:The Official Guide
              MODX info for everyone: http://bobsguides.com/modx.html
              My MODX Extras
              Bob's Guides is now hosted at A2 MODX Hosting
              • 34183
              • 23 Posts
              OK, what I didn't get before was that you have to uncheck "Clear Cache" right before you save.

              All of the other checkboxes in that area persist after save, so I assumed that one should too. It's kind of an odd UX issue, maybe a better tooltip explanation in the manager would help.

              I've installed CacheMaster (Thanks @BobRay) and that's doing the trick. Thanks for your help everyone!
                • 3749
                • 24,544 Posts
                I thought so too at one time. The only thing that tipped me off was that when I looked in the modx_site_content table in the DB, there was no field for that checkbox.

                Personally, I think that it should be unchecked by default (or have that option as a System Setting), and when unchecked, MODX should only clear the cache for that particular resource when the resource is saved. I don't think OpenGeek agrees with me, though. wink
                  Did I help you? Buy me a beer
                  Get my Book: MODX:The Official Guide
                  MODX info for everyone: http://bobsguides.com/modx.html
                  My MODX Extras
                  Bob's Guides is now hosted at A2 MODX Hosting