We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 697 Posts
    Hi,

I’m new to MODx and trying to install the EditArea syntax highlighter.
    This is my first plugin install, so please pardon my ignorance.

I followed all installation configuration steps but just cannot understand how to install the plugin in MODx.

Here what I did :

1) Downloaded EditArea’s archive from http://modxcms.com/Plugin-EditArea-1263.html
    2) Extracted archive and put the edit_area folder in assets/plugins.
    3) Added a new plugin in the manager, copy-paste the plugin title and description from the README file.
    4) Set the plugin setup field in Configuration tab and set the corresponding System Events as described in the EditArea’s README file.

There is some "editarea.plugin.php" file at my site’s root that I don’t know what to do with.

When trying to edit a document, I can see TinyMCE and "none" as available editors, but not EditArea.
    What should I do ?

Thanks for any help.
      • 1,336 Posts
      EditArea is a source code editor/syntax highliter for php,css, python et al.

I’ve used it in the past to edit snippets etc.

I don’t think its for document content, so you won’t see it when you edit a document, you need a HTML/RTE editor like TinyMCE for this as you’ve seen.
        Use MODx, or the cat gets it!
        • 697 Posts
        Thanks,

I also cannot edit snippets nor templates with EditArea, although I set it to the "Core and Manager" category.
        This makes me think that I did not install it correctly.

TinyMCE does not suit what I want. I dislike Wysiwyg editors and I want in MODx some alternative editor with syntax highlighting.

Is this possible ?
          • 697 Posts
          Installing EditArea as text editor for documents in MODx is possible.