We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 17 Posts
    Hi there folks,

I’ve recently installed Modx after playing around with Etomite and deciding Modx was exactly what I was looking for. However, I’m experiencing a problem which I also experienced in Etomite, and it often happens after refreshing the browser while in Manager. The error message I’m receiving (often in one or more frames) is:

You don’t have permission to access /manager/index.php on this server.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

I’ve seen this problem discussed previously on this forum (http://modxcms.com/forums/index.php/topic,1527.msg10254.html#msg10254) and realise the culprit is the index.php file in the manager folder. I’ve emailed my host and I’m yet to receive a reply (sigh...), so is there anything that can be done?

I’m a newbie to this CMS lark so please go easy on me!  wink

My server configuration is as follows:

Operating system:  Linux
    Apache version:  1.3.34 (Unix)
    PHP version:  4.4.1
    MySQL version  4.0.25-standard
    PHPinfo:     http://www.a2dconverter.co.uk/phpinfo.php

Any help would be gratefully appreciated,

Dan
      • 15 Posts
      Hey there,

i have excatelly the same problem.
      The second statement is not an issue at all, you just need to create a 403, 404 files...but the first one is REAL.

I am bumping my head all the morning today and i can’t get it work.
      Please help us, i need this installation to get work as soon as possible >:(

I can post my phpinfo link, too, if anyone can get something out of it.

Thx for helping
        • 7,075 Posts
        Never had this problem...

Stupid question but let’s ask it anyway : Are you using clean urls ? If so have you renamed the ht.access file in the manager folder into .htaccess (I am not talking the main .htaccess here...) ?