We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 13 Posts
    I’m new to Modx but had installed and tested a previous release some time ago without problems. However I’ve just done a new install of this release on the same host I had used before and I am experiencing all I can describe as browser hangs. The install itself went without a hitch but these problems have cropped up since starting to use the CMS. These hangs occur randomly and can occur either whilst I’m browsing the site or whilst in the manager and they happen regardless of browser in use. The only solution is to close the browser and try again after a period of time. As a newbie I’m not sure how to track down the problem and would be grateful in anyone can point me in the right direction.

Many Thanks.
      • 4,205 Posts
      Is this with the demo site? If you are on a shared host it may be an overloaded database or something like that.
        [font=Verdana]Shane Sponagle | [wiki] Snippet Call Anatomy | MODx Developer Blog | [nettuts] Working With a Content Management Framework: MODx

Something is happening here, but you don't know what it is.
        Do you, Mr. Jones? - [bob dylan]
        • 13 Posts
        It is shared (paid for) hosting but I’ve never had problems before.

It was a new clean install (new database) but I did flag to include the demo site, however I’m the only user so it’s difficult to believe it’s overloaded however maybe I misunderstand, please explain.

Thanks
        Les
        • Have you tried accessing the site from a different computer? Might also be worthwhile checking the MODx demo site for a comparison.

You could also display the php, mysql time on your site which could highlight any slowness / server overloads

<p align="center">MySQL: [^qt^], [^q^] request(s), PHP: [^p^], total: [^t^], document retrieved from [^s^].</p>
            http://www.onesmarthost.co.uk
            UK MODX Hosting with love.