You can do thing like this:
[ticket:1Cache bug]
Then it will display a little link that point the the ticket in the Trac that report the bug detail.
source:MODx/branches/CHANGELOG.php
Will show the changelog in SVN, and etc.
The Trac is using the Wiki as the editor to edit page and it uses a version of Wiki which is a very stripdown version but tightly integrated with SVN, ticket system, timeline, roadmap, etc. It is the whole package that make Trac a good tool.
Hi. I’ve been using TortoiseSVN (on WinXP, with Directory Opus not that that should make a difference), all seems fine.
My branch is now very out of date. Before I commit changes into it, I would like to update it to the latest trunk. I am not at all sure how to do this - the various options are very similarly named, and I can’t find documentation for this specific situation.
I am assuming (perhaps wrongly) that I can’t just copy the main trunk files into my branch, but I don’t actually understand what SVN is doing with my local filesystem - for all I know it will work out that its the same file and save stuff in the hidden svn folder accordingly.
So what am I supposed to do?
-
MODX Staff
- 10,725 Posts
SVN branches are copies of a specific revision. To bring your branch up-to-date you have two options:
1) If you do not have outstanding commits, it’s best to just remove it and make a fresh copy to avoid any conflicts or other unnecessary steps in option 2 to get up and running
2) When you have outstanding commits, but trunk has lots of changes, you need to merge all the revisions from trunk since you last merged from trunk or since you created a fresh copy as your branch.
Yes, that’s all entirely what I intend to do, and I fully understand the reasoning - I have work in my private working install that I intend to put into the very latest versions of files.. and I need my branch to be as up-to-date as my installs.
But my question was - and is - how do I make that fresh copy? Are you asying I remove paulgregory and readd paulgregory? I didn’t make the copy in the first place. I’m not sure I have the permission to remove it and add it. If I do, what do I copy?
It doesn’t look like I have the permissions to do a merge either.
In this situation, is it the case that I *can’t* change things, and I just need to ask someone to remove the branch and readd it from the latest revision?