We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 145 Posts
    About the online API documentation, would it not be easier to set this up as a Wiki?

I’m relatively new to developing with MODx’s API and I work much better with examples. It took me a good couple of hours to get my head around the differences between getTemplateVar, getTemplateVars, and getTemplateVarOutput. We, as users of MODx, could upload examples to save you guys the hassle?

Just a thought.

I was considering on starting a "developer’s blog" for somewhere to write about the problems I encounter and my solution to them. Forum’s are great, but I think blogs and wikis are little more "Web 2.0".

[EDIT] Thanks Zi for moving this post. Sorry ’bout that. Mind went a bit loopy. [/EDIT]
      Kunal Kapoor
      Technical Director
      Limesharp Internet Limited - Effective, Functional, Standards Compliant

IRC Nick: KingKoopa
      Skype ID: KingKoopa16
      • 680 Posts
      My personal take on this is that a wiki would be great for documentation but I don’t think it should replace the official documentaiton. I like having "offical documentation" that you know is reliable and hasn’t been edited by someone who doesn’t know what they’re doing. Also, I honestly don’t like using non-MODx solutions as a part of the MODx project unless it’s absolutely necessary. But if someone wanted to steup a separate MODx wiki site I think it would be great.

What I would really like to see is comments on the documentation. The online documentation that I enjoy using more than any other is the PHP.net documentation. I know that the PHP documentation is acurate because it’s done by people who know but the comments still give you a lot of good unofficial input.
        • 7,075 Posts
        I think wikis a great for collaborative writing. The main plus they have over most CMS is :
        - revisionning / rollback
        - auto TOC generation