We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 208 Posts
    I am trying to work out the best way to create a list of products as per screenshot below which is easily updateable, if I use template variables then I think I would need a TV for every product but I have no idea how many products on each page as these will change.

Can someone point me in the right direction on what to use to do this bearing in mind I am not a developer or in fact remotely clever (-:

Many thanks

Ian
      • 412 Posts
      Ditto is the answer... read up on the ditto basics.

create a chunk with your per item template

create a page using your regular template (this will be your parent node) and modify the content to work with that page of course, and somewhere on there you call the ditto template chunk

create documents under your above parent node (create another template to show full details of the item and use that here)

create tv’s for your item detail, price, desc, pic and such and assign those to the templates they will be called on.

It is a bit to grasp at first, but it is totally awesome once you get it sorted.

here is a link to a simple implementation without using a second details page - http://sweetskies.fruitwerks.us/sold_babies.php In this use, I have little point to expand the details. But as with most pics on the site it will pop up a lightbox.

In your case clicking on an item might want to bring up more details, this is where another template and another ditto call comes in. There is also a tags feature that could be handy to suggest related items - hmm never thought of that before smiley

- actually you just need a container for the item pages, ditto can be called to / from a different page, but what I mentioned above keeps it simple.

Good Luck!
        • 4,205 Posts