We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
  • I’ve been playing with the idea of developing a mobile manager for MODX Revolution for a while, and as I’m only a poor student with a massive interest in MODX, but also a massive interest in paying off his car and saving up for a MacBook (:P) I sort of am looking for a way to fund developing this, as there will be quite a lot of work involved in getting this to work properly on so many different devices.

Last week I had a little chat with an agency I’ve been working with a lot lately and it seems he might have a client interested in paying for this functionality and he asked for a specification. Which is the reason for this topic.

With this topic, I’m hoping to get a bit of an idea of what people would use a manager interface on their smartphones for. What features should be supported?

This is what I’ve been thinking of and how I would like to see this get shape:

( Don’t let the following distort your own opinion - it may sound definite but it’s just my current vision and prone to changing )

• It’s not a mobile manager theme, but an actual replacement accessed on a different url (eg: sitename.com/mm/) but built on the MODX core.
    • It’s going to be built up from three layers (according to web dev standards, but not as they are in the current manager wink):
      [list][li]HTML: plain, simple html that makes sense without any of the other layers
    • CSS: Improving the UX and general looks by applying basic CSS.
    • JS: for those devices that support it, JS will be added to provide shortcuts and additional UX improvements
    [/li]
    [li]When logged in using MODX credentials a "welcome" screen will be shown, where quick links are added (eg: create new modDocument with tpl=5 under parent 12) which can be maintained through the MODX Manager -> Components -> Mobile Manager[/li]
    [li]Resource listing in two modes: