We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 6 Posts
    Hello,
    let me start by saying that I am new to Modx but after working with it for a few weeks, I am already a big fan.

The scenario i am facing is as follow:
    I want to encrypt some data (like username and password) for which I already have the code in a js file.
    The easy way to use the file (and its functions) would be to load it in a <script> tag, and then use the encrypt() function when i need it.

The problem with that is the file is now accessible just by looking at the "page source".

I have been trying, but the chunks and TV only deal with html, and the snippets with PHP (and only on initial page load).

Question is:
    How can I either

• hide the <script> tag
    • create some link to the external file so i can access its functions when needed
    • or is there some type of a plugin that would help me accomplish this

I am using revolution 2.4.2-pl

Thank you in advance

This question has been answered by BobRay. See the first response.

• discuss.answer
      • 24,544 Posts
      If I'm understanding you, no matter how you do it, either the path to the JS file will be in the source, or the actual JS code will be in the source -- otherwise the browser isn't going to have access to the JS code. The JS code has to be available to the browser via URL, so it will always be accessible to anyone.

I think your best bet may be to convert the JS code to PHP and put it in a snippet. That way it will never be visible.
        Did I help you? Buy me a beer
        Get my Book: MODX:The Official Guide
        MODX info for everyone: http://bobsguides.com/modx.html
        My MODX Extras
        Bob's Guides is now hosted at A2 MODX Hosting
        • 6 Posts
        Quote from: BobRay at Feb 04, 2016, 05:57 AM