We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 77 Posts
    Hello,
    I'm new to Discuss. For a new project I was asked if it is possible to use the same login data for a Discuss Forum and for a "members only" area on the website, for a uniform login.

For instance, if a user registers for a member only area, is it possible to pass the user's credentials to Discuss - in fact creating a forum member with these credentials at the same time?

Thanks for any support,
    Guenter
      • 24,544 Posts
      I wouldn't swear to it, but this may happen automatically. IIRC, every time you create a new user, Discuss creates a duplicate user with exactly the same data.
        Did I help you? Buy me a beer
        Get my Book: MODX:The Official Guide
        MODX info for everyone: http://bobsguides.com/modx.html
        My MODX Extras
        Bob's Guides is now hosted at A2 MODX Hosting
        • 1,154 Posts
        Hi I think I can answer and can also check for you.

Making a user in Discuss will make a Modx user (with Class Key of "Moduser" and group membership in "User Group" as "Forum Member"), and I can pass tonnes of extended fields into that tab. All accessible through the normal modx user tab.

The reverse won't work at all, and I would daresay only a fool would try to make Discuss recognize a user signing up sort of 'outside' Discuss. Not to say you are a fool of course ;-)

But "passing" the data to Modx is already happening, this is due to Discuss's inability to really stand alone in any way as far as user management. It tries to add a couple of extra fields to make a user profile (but mostly fails at that), and that's about it. Not to criticize; its not all that hard to manage these issues independently. But Discuss doesn't do it, much.