We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 3 Posts
    I am using MODX Evolution. I need to create custom pagetitle value which will be automatically built from unique tv values of current document i.e.:
    [*proposal-current-number*][*producer*][*product-model*]
    Each tv is a simple string.

Could you help me to prepare any smart, simple plugin to change this system field value during editing/creation of current document (onDocFormSave event)?
    Maybe my question is trivial or was discussed here earlier, but I can't find it. Additionally, I'm not a php programmer...
    Thanks in advance
    Tad
      • 953 Posts
      You are not obliged to use the "pagetitle" in your template

If you have a bespoke template for these documents, simply add the TV's to the template

Example:
      <!DOCTYPE HTML>
      <html>
      <head>
      <title>[*proposal-current-number*][*producer*][*product-model*]</title>
      <meta charset="utf-8">
      </head>
      <body>
      [*content*]
      </body>
      </html>

You could of course also / or use something like "IF" - using the "IF" snippet you can use one template for multiple pages but call-in the appropriate title for the individual pages.

Example:
      <!DOCTYPE HTML>
      <html>
      <head>
      <title>[[if? &is=`[*parent*]:in:10` &then=`[*proposal-current-number*][*producer*][*product-model*]` &else=`[*pagetitle*] | [(site_name)]`]]</title>
      <meta charset="utf-8">
      </head>
      <body>
      [*content*]
      </body>
      </html>
        • 3 Posts
        Thank you for your advice.