We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 9 Posts
    Hi.
    I'm completely new to Modx. I've started developing my first site and gotten to the point of using my first snippet - getResources.
    For the life of me I cannot make it work at all.
    I've even stripped it right down to the the simplest call [[!getResources? ]] which I've put into the body of the pre-installed 'Base' template code. Then I assigned that template to a simple document with two child documents - all documents are published and not hidden from menu.
    When I viewed the document there was no output. So I added a call to get phpinfo to the template to see what would come up. Still nothing.
    Here's the template code

<html>
    <head>
    <title>[[++site_name]] - [[*pagetitle]]</title>
    <base href="[[++site_url]]" />
    </head>
    <body>
    [[*content]]
    <?php phpinfo(); ?>
    [[!getResources? ]]
    </body>
    </html>

and in the content of the document I've just added the string 'Basic content' which does show up when I view the document, but nothing else appears - neither the output of phpinfo() nor the output of getResources.

I have Modx installed on a standard webhost and I know php is running properly, not least because the Modx UI wouldn't appear if it wasn't.

Anybody be able to help me here?

This question has been answered by multiple community members. See the first response.

• 295 Posts
      can you explain exactly what it is your trying to do? additional parameters are required for the getresources to work.

see here for more info.
      https://rtfm.modx.com/extras/revo/getresources

so in this case, the parent id (in a comma separated list) would show the menus of all child pages

[[getResources? &parents=`choose_an_id,another_id,one_more_id`]]
      [ed. note: comp_nerd26 last edited this post 8 years, 7 months ago.]
        • 9 Posts