We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
  • Hi there,

some of my sites were hacked recently. I will try and assemble some guide, but I am not a security expert. I am an average guy, I know how to navigate in linux, I can setup, write basic scripts in php and read+understand most of it. I google a lot to find out things.

All of the security holes were stuffed by current MODX updates. I am glad we have such a quick and precise team to provide updates shortly after a security hole is beeing found! I cant say for sure (there is no "sure"), but I have the impression that MODX is still one of the most secure CMS (or CMF) available.

(Now here comes the big but): the bad code is still there! Doors are closed, but my server has the flu. In fact, I had some very current and up to date sites infected, because the malicious code was injected in january but got active in july for the first time. Not active = nearly impossible to find without knowing exactly how it looks.

How do I know my server is ill?
    Here are some issues you might run into.

• Google sent you an email, telling you they found malware
    • Your server seems slow and not so responsive anymore
    • You run into server errors, out of the blue
    • Your server stats tell you that a lot of emails are beeing sent
    • Your server stats tell you that webspace is very very close to 100% beeing used
    If they appear, you might want to take a look at your webspace. I ran into all of these, please add how you noticed that something was going on.

My server seems infected, where do I look now
    That is a good question. It depends on how your server has been setup. If you run into errors you should always include answers to these in your help request because it can save some hours in the conversation. All info in 1st attempt -> direct answer possible.

1. Do you have access to a kind of shell and can fire linux commands?