I will preface by saying this is probably exactly how MODX is supposed to work, as designed. But I find it confusing and think it should probably work a little different and better.
When editing a user, you can override a system setting with a user setting. This part works fine, I can add the setting and change the value. The problem is in what happens if I want to remove the custom setting.
I found out the hard way that if I right-click and choose "Delete Setting" it gives me this danger message that I could literally break my whole MODX installation! Not knowing exactly what they mean by that, cause all I'm doing is removing a custom user setting right?? I delete the setting from the user and go on about my day.
The problem is, and I didn't realize this at first, MODX deleted the entire setting from the entire system! NOT just from the user custom settings area. The setting could no longer be found in the System Settings area either!
This is what I'm saying is bad behavior, I just want to delete the custom setting override from the user itself, NOT delete the global setting from the System Settings area. I do not believe MODX should behave this way, it's dangerous and confusing if you start adding and removing custom settings from many users, one could accidentally delete all kinds of system settings!
So knowing that, and having recreated the system setting, the setting once again appeared in my user account! All on its own. This lead me to look for any way where I can remove the setting from the user but I cannot find it, there doesn't seem to be any way to remove the setting from the user. If I delete it, the entire global setting is deleted, and even if I make the setting match the system value, it still stays there. Now this user is stuck having custom settings which aren't any different from global setting, with no way to remove the setting from the user account.
Is this a bug? And will it be fixed to work better? I'm using Revo version 2.3.1-pl