We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 3 Posts
    I'm a newbie to using MODX and I've just added AdvSearch because I would like to use it to create dynamic results pages on my website. I have some experience using Cold Fusion, but have virtually no experience scripting with PHP. Basically what I currently have are static pages on a jewelry website. There are pages with charts for things like Birthstone, Colors, etc. When a particular stone name is clicked it redirects to another static page listing all the jewelry available with that particular gemstone. Since the pages are static they must be individually updated by hand which is a major pain. What I would like to do is use MODX & AdvSearch to build the results page on the fly by sending a query to the database with the name of the gemstone and returning the results to the new page. For an example of my present static setup you can go here: http://www.echomoonjewelry.com/gemstone_colors.html and click on any of the colors to see the static results page that I would like to make dynamic. I'm not looking to use a form where the user needs to input a search term. I was hoping to build the query in to the link. I've read the AdvSearch documentation and while it lists all the individual parameters it assumes you already have a knowledge of scripting & how to build the query, which I do not. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!
      • 27 Posts
      Hi,

I may be misunderstanding your requirements, but it doesn't sound like you even need AdvSearch.

Is your information in a database at all? If so, try using GetUrlParam. I'll look into my own website and get the code to you in a second. You will need to create a custom snippet which is super simple...as long as you have the database username, password and table name handy. Which I hope you do? (Just never post that stuff on forums though of course tongue)