We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 10 Posts
    First let me apologize if this has been covered elsewhere. I've searched and read all I can find and seem to be up against a wall here. I'm relatively new to Modx and am trying to fully integrate a custom bootstrap menu.

The basic problem seems to be that wayfinder assigns the ParentRowTpl to any document that is a container and has children. That works fine for the first two menu levels, but if the second level also has children I need to add the dropdown-submenu class to the li to get bootstrap dropdowns to work. Essentially I need for the children of first level that have children to use another template than the ParentRowTpl default.

Am I just missing something simple here?? I manually added a comment to the template call I need to change:

<!-- tpl.Wayfinder.row -->
    <li >
        <a href="contact" >Contact Us</a>

</li>

<!-- tpl.Wayfinder.row.parent -->
    <li class="last dropdown">
        <div class="btn-group"><a href="blog/" title="Blog" class="btn"  >
    		Blog

</a>
        <button class="btn dropdown-toggle" data-toggle="dropdown">
        <span class="caret"></span>
      </button>
    	<ul class="dropdown-menu">
    		<!-- tpl.Wayfinder.inner -->
    <!-- tpl.Wayfinder.row.parent --><!-- NEED THIS TEMPLATE SOMETHING ELSE -->
    <li class="first dropdown">
        <div class="btn-group"><a href="blog/blog-post/" title="Blog Post" class="btn"  >
    		Blog Post

</a>
        <button class="btn dropdown-toggle" data-toggle="dropdown">
        <span class="caret"></span>
      </button>
    	<ul class="dropdown-menu">
    		<!-- tpl.Wayfinder.inner -->
    <!-- tpl.Wayfinder.row.inner -->
    <li  class="first">
        <a href="blog/blog-post/blog-sub" >Blog Sub</a>

</li>

Thanks for your help in advance, and I look forward to being a part of this community.

Aubrey
      • 10 Posts