We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 4 Posts
    I've inherited a MODx Revo site and I'm a total MODx noob. I am trying to set it up in MAMP but have gotten 503 errors so far. If I do a straight install everything works. If I download the site via FTP and load the db via phpMyAdmin errors ensue. So, I'm a bit overwhelmed with a new system I am not familiar with. The issue seems to be with how I move the site's files.

I have yet to find a step by step on setting up an *existing site* in MAMP. Documentation discusses packaging via Unix commands.

Is there a way to "package" a site without Unix command line access? As far as know, the host does not allow this.

• Follow the instructions here and make sure you change the database properties and it will work on your localhost.

Good luck and welcome to MODX.
        Benjamin Marte
        Interactive Media Developer
        Follow Me on Twitter | Visit my site | Learn MODX
        • 131 Posts
        I have also my MODX using MAMP and no problem at all.

Quote from: squidz at May 13, 2013, 01:20 PM
        I've inherited a MODx Revo site and I'm a total MODx noob. I am trying to set it up in MAMP but have gotten 503 errors so far. If I do a straight install everything works. If I download the site via FTP and load the db via phpMyAdmin errors ensue. So, I'm a bit overwhelmed with a new system I am not familiar with. The issue seems to be with how I move the site's files.

I have yet to find a step by step on setting up an *existing site* in MAMP. Documentation discusses packaging via Unix commands.

Is there a way to "package" a site without Unix command line access? As far as know, the host does not allow this.

• 4 Posts
          Quote from: benmarte at May 13, 2013, 01:48 PM
          Follow the instructions here and make sure you change the database properties and it will work on your localhost.

Good luck and welcome to MODX.