We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 51 Posts
    Hey all,

I am new to login so maybe I am missing something.

I have it working, I create a test user, I can even get the email to be the username.

However if I then use the same email address (i.e. the same username) in the database the original user with that username is deleted and a new one is created.

Unless I am missing some sort of "does user exist" check, this is a major security issue. Someone can take over an account just by re-registering with a previously used username...whether deliberately or not.

Please straighten me out here by either confirming this or pointing me to a way to verify an existing user.

Thanks in advance
      • 24,544 Posts
      Are you using the Register snippet (part of the Login package) to register the user?
        Did I help you? Buy me a beer
        Get my Book: MODX:The Official Guide
        MODX info for everyone: http://bobsguides.com/modx.html
        My MODX Extras
        Bob's Guides is now hosted at A2 MODX Hosting
        • 51 Posts
        Yes I am, here's the call
        [[!Register? 
        &usernameField=`email` 
        &submitVar=`registerbtn` 
        &activationResourceId=`38` 
        &activationEmailTpl=`myActivationEmailTpl` 
        &activationEmailSubject=`Thanks for Registering!` 
        &submittedResourceId=`27` 
        &usergroups=`Member` 
        &validate=`nospam:blank, password:required:minLength=^6^, password_confirm:password_confirm=^password^, fullname:required, email:required:email` &placeholderPrefix=`reg.` ]]

I get the email with the activation link OK.

Have a look at the attached image. Above the line is the db. Below the line after I did a new registration with the same email address. Effectively it deletes one record and adds another.