We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 35 Posts
    Hi,
    I am quite new to modx and mxcalendar ind I would like to create an custom XML feed for my calendar. I would like to know how should my xml look like, does any one have some example xml feed for this calendar.

My xml feed should have title, link to resource, start/end date and hour.

Thanks in advance!

Denis
      • 215 Posts
      The best way to accomplish this would be to use a call that outputs a list calendar, and then use a custom list item chunk that formats each event, as well as custom chunks to format the list output. Here's a basic walkthrough:

1. Create a resource that will serve as your XML file - make sure to set your content type as XML and turn off any Rich Text editors, as they will add formatting you don't want.

2. Create your custom chunks - you will need one for tplListItem, tplListHeading and tplListWrap.

3. Put your main mxCalendar call in the content area of this resource; as stated above, you should set the displayType to list, and make sure to include your custom chunks. You should also make sure that you set the eventListLimit parameter pretty high so that your XML file contains most of the events coming soon. A sample call would look something like this:

[[!mxCalendar? &displayType=`list` &tplListItem=`CustomListItemChunk` &tplListHeading=`CustomListHeadingChunk` &tplListWrap=`CustomListWrapChunk` &eventListLimit=`75`]]

I can help with a more detailed explanation if needed, but this should get you started at least.
        Jesse Couch
        MODX Aficionado, Front-End Designer & Developer
        http://www.designcouch.com
        • 35 Posts
        Ok, not shure if I got this right. I am quite new to this.
        I don't know where to put my xml. To mxCalendar feed as link or in this resource I created?