Hi
I'm looking for advice on how to achieve the following - I've done some research, but I can't seem to work it out, or even if it's possible.
My installation has several contexts, all representing different sites, a user group per context with users locked into a particular context. The idea is that all sites are based on (i.e. duplicated from) the web context and then content is customised by that context's user/group.
However, I want them to be able to upload images (via TVs). So I need to lock them into an upload area per context (or they will be able to see/delete/alter other user's images). I understand I could do this with different media sources per context, but that means going through all the TV's every time a new context is created, setting the media source for that context. I was hoping to avoid this by having folders within the media source that correspond to a context, and then locking the usergroup to using that folder only.
Anyone done this? Got any idea how to do this? Or is it even possible?
Cheers
A.
Hey Andy,
maybe I don't quite understand it but you could just assign the different media sources to the different user groups. Let's say you are working with 3 different contexts. Each context has its own user group that can access/manipulate the corresponding context. (It doesn't really matter how many different TVs you are using). My suggestion would be that you create three different media sources, e.g.
media source 1: assets/context1/
media source 2: assets/context2/
media source 3: assets/context3/
In the next step you assign each media source via the Permissions-tab to the corresponding user group. This will force each user group to use the media source folder you assigned them to. (no matter which TV, media editor they are using).
To prevent all other users (expect for the super admin user) from using the whole filesystem, you should assign the filesystem media source (default media source with ID 1) to the admin super user by assigning his user group and his rank to the filesystem media source. This will force all other users stay in their own media source.
Also don't forget to set the value "default_media_source" for the different contexts to the ID of their corresponding media source (this will prevent the file/media source drop-down from showing the filesystem (1) by default which the non-super admin user can't access).
Let me know if this works for you.