We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 97 Posts
    I first heard about MODx 8 months ago, and I have to say that it’s completely changed how I develop websites. I was finally to the point of giving up my search for a CMS, because I thought that they were all bloated and unusable, when a former coworker of mine tipped me off to a new CMS they’d been using called MODx. From my first glances at this new found CMS I knew it was something special. I’ve been developing websites with it for about 6 months now and I have to say that it is without a doubt, the best overall CMS I’ve ever used. This post is going to explain why I’m now so attached to MODx, and my overall viewpoint on what a CMS should be. Now, to give you a point of reference, here is a table that represents my experience with different CMSs:

CMSs I’ve used to build websites

• WordPress
    • Nucleus
    • Joomla (and Mambo)
    • Xaraya
    • PHPWebSite
    • ZOPE (AHHHHH!)

CMSs I’ve installed and deemed worthless

• Drupal
    • Xoops
    • PHP-Nuke
    • Exponent
    • b2evolution
    • eZ Publish
    • Typo3

While I won’t go into the detailed reasons for deeming all of those CMSs I tried as worthless, the main 2 reasons for not going any further with them are:

• 1. I didn’t instantly understand how to use it.
    • 2. I could tell that it wouldn’t speed up my website development process.