We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 33 Posts
    Hello there.

I am quite new to Modx, but have been asked to develop a webshop for it.

I bought the simplecart add-on for Modx revolution, but I'm having some trouble setting it up.

Fx the TV's that is mentioned in the documentation, price and product code. I can't figure out if it is something I'm supposed to make myself or if it's already in modx? And if they are not, what am I supposed to put in them? What kind of input do they need and what will they output?

Same goes for the "stock TV" that the add-on says that I have to make myself. No idea what goes in or what comes out.

The documentation is rather poor english, full of spelling errors and skips over important details and no matter how many times I read it I dont get any smarter on this. I've tried writing the developer for some help, but I don't think they quite understand what the problem is.

Is there anyone out there that has experience with simplecart that could enlighten me on how I'm supposed to proceed with it?
      • 151 Posts
      Hey Cruiser,

SimpleCart 1.0 in all reality isn't really a full on "shopping cart" in the sense that you may be used to, but rather a helper snippet. Everything from creating products to listing products to virtually everything other than the final "Cart" aspect of the shopping process is left entirely in your hands to manage. This is great for flexibility, but less than ideal for a new modx user.

On the TV's used for SimpleCart, these are simply a way for SimpleCart to establish the price (or stock quantity) and link it to a unique ID for your product. Since products are just resources and not associated with SimpleCart, these TV's act as a link to associate which resources are products and how much they cost.