We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 4 Posts
    Hello,
    I have installed Modx Revo 2.1.5 standard on xampp 1.7.3 with windows 7.
    I am a newbie in modx. No problem for installation.
    Sometimes Apache crashed, it was slow but I could test Modx Revo and create my little site with some personalization.
    I took the Modx Revo 2.2.0 pl2 standard. The installation was well passed but the administration part isn't good: ressources often doesn't appear, blank pages, dasboard and media sources doesn't work.
    I saw that there is problems with this configuration xampp and windows ...
    is there a possible patch ?
    I have to take a more recent version of xampp (1.7.4) ?
    will you have a future version for this configuration ?

Thanks for this promising CMF/CMS open source and for your answer ?
    Best wishes.
    • Hi,

And welcome!

There are some things you will want to do to run MODX on xampp. I don't know if windows 7 is too much of a factor actually. I have a number of installs running on xampp with windows 7, various versions. It IS slow, yet with 2.2.x it's sped up quite a bit.

See http://bobsguides.com/xampp.html for information about xampp installs. There's some configurin' to do.

I believe you'll also have to enable cURL in \xampp\php\php.ini to get the package manager to work - (google cURL and xampp). Apache Friends has a list of file locations at the bottom of this page http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-windows.html

Also you'll want to verify that Apache, php, mySQL, and the manager's default_timezone settings (sytstem settings -> system and server) all have matching timezones set. See php.net/manual/en/timezones.php for a list of php timezones. Use the php timezone code for the MODX default_timezone setting. With a new xampp install you'll want to verify all the timezone settings throughout and set them for your location anyway.