We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 93 Posts
    Hi there,

I've been using modx for a couple of years now but I haven't yet found the best way to develop and launch a site.

My clients generally use cheap shared servers so to avoid any nasty surprises regarding what is and isn't installed on the server, I usually like to install in a subfolder on their server and develop the site there.

The problem is what to do when I want to go live. The obvious solution is mod_rewrite, but often this isn't an option (fasthosts is particularly a pain).

So I have to move the site from the subfolder but half the time I have problems, most usually in the manager.

I'd like to know what everyone else does when the develop in modx. (Please assume that you can't choose where the site is hosted.)

I think it'd be great if we could come up with a definitive, fool proof way of developing and launching in modx.

Thanks!
      • 236 Posts
      I work pretty much as you do although I sometimes also develop locally running xampp. Either way the site still needs to be moved at some point. It can be a bit tricky initially, I've moved a few sites now though and have the hang of it. I generally find re-running the install can solve any problems on a site that has been moved. Don't quote me on that though, I'm not sure what the official line is smiley

Have you seen this? http://rtfm.modx.com/display/revolution20/Moving+Your+Site+to+a+New+Server

• 380 Posts
        i've not found it a problem.

1. Move the site up a folder
        2. Re-run the setup
        3. Edit config.inc for the 4 urls that setup seems reluctant to change
        4. Remove /subfolder in .htaccess if you'd set it
          • 87 Posts
          I am lucky in that we host most of the sites we develop on our own setup. If I developing in a shared hosting environment:

1. Install as normal. Rename index.php to _index.php (or whatever)