We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 109 Posts
    Hi there,
    I'm still learning to write snippets, and I was hoping to get a bit of critique.

Very simple, I want to efficiently collect the basic fields of mod_resource's by 'id' and also one of the tpl vars which is associated w/ each - called 'image' in this case.

Here's snippet code:
    // init output
    $output = '';

// get collection of res. by id's (set in snpptcall)
    $resourceCollection = $modx->getCollection(
            'modResource', 
            "`id` IN (" .$bannerItems. ")"
    );

// loop through collection, array-ify each...
    foreach($resourceCollection as $resource){
    $fields = $resource->toArray();

// ... and add tv "image" to each arrayed resource
    $fields['image'] = $resource->getTVValue('image');

// add chunk call to output for each arrayed resource
    $output .= $modx->getChunk('banner.item',$fields);
    };

// return output
    return $output;

So, it works. And I suppose that in many cases that's the important thing. But I would like to know if this is also a decent snippet, and not just a working snippet. In particular, I'd like to know if it's going to give me a worthwhile performance boost over getResources? Is it worth the custom snippet?

Thanks for any comments you can give.

-gabriel [ed. note: unsub777 last edited this post 12 years, 5 months ago.]
      • 24,544 Posts
      It should be faster than getResources. You could speed it up slightly by using the ID of the TV rather than the name in getTVValue():

$resource->getTVValue(12);

Be aware that it will not respect security permissions, or published, or deleted status as getResources does. You could add conditions to your criteria to skip deleted and unpublished resources, but respecting the permissions would make it more complicated and if you need to do that, you might want to use getResources().