I have started a "new layout" for my site in a clean install of modx. My previous site is still live and I don't want to take it offline until I can move all my users into my "new layout". Can anyone tell me how I can go about doing this?
Do the old and new sites share the same server?
why moving the users, just plug in your new design over the existing site unless you change from evo to revo ?
I have totally revamped my web site with a new graphical chart withour enven stopping it.
Hope this help, let us know
The reason behind the "new install" was because at the time of building the site, I was still learning how to use modx. I am running on the same server. I just didn't know if I could go into the database and move the database from one install to another.
You can move database from one install to another, this is what is recommended to move site...
To move a site, move the file, dump and reload database, do an upgrade install of modx over it, and it should work.
Two tricks learned the hard way :
before installing manually delete the core/cache content,
Make sure you have the proper rights at the OS level (different unix/windows users means different owners on the file system).
Hope this will help
Philippe