We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 433 Posts
    Hi there, I'm trying to use the value of a migx tv with multiple textfields as input options for another tv, a checkbox tv with a list of categories. The idea behind this is that I want a site admin to easily manage the input options for this tv without accessing the tv itself.

I did this as follows (probably not the best way, I'm not a programmer):

1) created the admin-input tv named categoryInputOptions:
    input type: migx
    Form type:
    [{
      "caption":"Categories",
      "fields": [{
        "field":"category",
        "caption":"Category"
      }]
    }]

Grid columns:
    [
    {"header": "Category", "width": "30", "sortable": "false", "dataIndex": "category"}
    ]

2) Created the category tv named category:

input type: checkbox
    input option values:
    @EVAL return $modx->runSnippet('readCategoryOptions');

3) Created the snippet to display the category options from the first TV named readCategoryOptions:
    <?php
    $resource = $modx->getObject('modResource',1);

$migxEntries = $resource->getTVValue('categoryInputOptions');
    $migxEntries2 = json_decode($migxEntries);

This is where I get stuck. The TV categoryInputOptions is managed on the resource with id 1. So I first get that resource and then I get the value of the TV categoryInputOptions on that resource. I understand this is a JSON string, so I try to decode it. This gives me an array.

My question is: how do I turn that array ($migxEntries2) into a string that can be used by TV category? I think it should be a string in the form value1||value2||value3.

I tried everything I could find on arrays, like implode, but nothing seems to work. Probably something small.. Anyone got a hint for me?
      • 433 Posts
      For anyone interested, this is how I got it to work:

<?php
      $resource = $modx->getObject('modResource',1);