We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 5 Posts
    As a complete PHP novice I've been wrestling with this for days now smiley

I'm building a recruitment website using MODx Evolution 1.0.4 and eForm 1.4.4.6. I have successfully created a form that allows job applicants to send email attachments and it works fine.

Now I'm trying to auto populate the page heading and a couple of form fields with the Job Title and a Ref. I got this working using a bit of PHP code to pass a querystring parameter from the job page to the form page. This is the code I use to create the page heading for instance:

<?php
    echo "<h1>Apply For";?> 
    <?php echo $_GET["name"]; ?>
    <?php echo "</h1>";?>

As chunks cannot process PHP, I added all the form HTML along with the above PHP into a snippet and called that snippet using the chunk that is referenced in the usual eForm snippet call.

The form still displays correctly and it popualtes the heading and form fields as I wanted but now when I hit the submit button to send the email, I get an error message and the email does not get sent.

I appreciate I might need to provide a bit more info/code for anybody to help here but I'm not sure which bit of code is/could be the problem. If anybody could give me just a nugget of advice I'd be really grateful.
    • There is a proper way to populate eForm fields from an external source, whether from the database or from the GET.

This involves using a custom function in a snippet, and telling eForm to run that function. The snippet has to be loaded before the eForm snippet, or else you can use a runSnippet parameter in your eForm call.
      eForm? ... &eFormOnBeforeFormMerge=`getGET` &runSnippet=`your-snippet-name`

The function getGET will fetch the GET values and insert them into the $fields array:
      function getGET(&$fields) {
        $value1 = $_GET['field1'];
        $fields['form-field'] = $value1;
      }