On March 26, 2019 we launched new MODX Forums. Please join us at the new MODX Community Forums.
Subscribe: RSS
  • Allright, so I've been banging about with Evo for 4 years, and I had been using a very simple mechanism for multilingual sites that was fine except now I'm working with higher profile clients and they need unique urls for SEO purposes.

So, took the plunge and setup YAMS for the first time. Everything seems to be working swimmingly (for the time being!)- just passing the yams tags to snippets through a parameter in the snippet call, etc. However, I'm running into a singular issue that is a requirement for the client.

I have the site start page setup to use a multilingual template. I have set the option for the site start filename to not be shown. I am only using unique/multilingual aliases: no language dependent server name mode or root name mode. I have set the redirection mode to current else browser.

The client requests that the site start doc (homepage) be configured so that either the last language selected by the user (which I've noted is set by a cookie by YAMS) or the browser language determine the language displayed when loading the home page. With the configuration as mentioned above, whenever loading the site start page (without a referring url, such as mysitename.com), the language displayed is the default language as setup in the YAMS module configuration for languages.

I'm willing to modify the class to make this happen, but only for the site start page- I want the default YAMS behavior to truck along as normal for the rest of the site!

Any ideas? Been banging around this for the last couple of days...
    • hi,

i think if you would like this behaviour only on the site start page, you shouldn't modify yams behaviour

personally, in the case you describe, i would simply write a snippet to detect the browser language (using $_SERVER["HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE"]) and/or the existence of a yams cookie and set the redirection accordingly