I have been doing all of my testing with the sample website installed but I think it’s time I started from scratch building up a site block by block. I’ll get a lot better understanding how everything is fitting together that way.
My question is, if I upload only the install directory and rerun, select upgrade, and do no select install sample data, will this reinstall the database and make it look like a clean install? Or od I need to delete it all and reupload to re-run the install?
Essentially, "Upgrade" uses the existing db and keeps all the data. To get a clean install you’d need to drop all your tables and run as a new install. You don’t need to reupload assets/ or manager/ stuff.