We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 49 Posts
    ok, we have a situation here.
    Our website used too data transfer and got blocked.
    We moved all the FTP content to new server, DNS is changed.
    I made a database backup from modX just before website crashed. (lucky)

Now-- will everything work if i just import the database_dump.sql onto new, blank database and edit the config.inc.php file to match the new host/username/passw?

I have been trying to do this for last 24h, database backup is 35MB. 35MB is way too heavy, server times out and i cant upload it.
    There is a script called BigDump.php, but it uploaded only smart part of the database

// note i am a designer and all this techy stuff makes my head turn. please provide answears like you would tell it to complete idiot. ; )

Thanks--
    chris
    • I deal with this quite often and you’ll have to separate the dump into smaller files. I suspect with 35Mb you have either a lot of custom data or you use the native logging features and do not clean out the tables periodically. Typically, removing all of the log tables from your dump will alleviate the problem of timing out, but if not, try breaking the rest of your data down into small, manageable chunks.
        • 49 Posts
        i got database_backup.gz (45MB!!!) from phpMyAdmin and used BigDump script [http://www.ozerov.de/bigdump.php] to import it into the new one.
        There is no way text make all the db’s weight! I have a feeling EasyPeasy Gallery does the bad thing. Look at the pic below. The rest of the database consists of that ’matrix’ thing.

• 49 Posts
          Yes, yes-- there it is.

• 1,097 Posts
            Yes, Easy Peasy is storing images in the database itself - which is insane.