We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 3 Posts
    Rightyo so I’m installing modx, I’m at the screen where I need to enter the database username and password. I’ve created a username and password in my cpanel MySQL Databases Manager, and so I enter these into the install screen where it asks for them. I click "test connection" and....and... Connection to host: failed! sad but they’re the right details huh

I thought this Graphical Installer was now "easier for less experienced users to get up and running fast with a step-by-stop online installer." Well I’m not experianced in databases but I have been designing/developing websites for a few years now and I’m not a newbie by any means.

I’m at a dead end, any suggestions? :’(

p.s. sorry if I sound pissed off, just frustrated and been going around in circles doing things it says to do it.
    p.s.s (or is that p.p.s?) I’ve searched the forum, no answers found.
      • 1,097 Posts
      "Connection to host" error suggests that this has nowt to do with the username and password - if memory serves it says "failed login" or somesuch if it does get to that stage.

Check the host is correct and the database name is correct.
        No, I don't know what OpenGeek's saying half the time either.
        MODx Documentation: The Wiki | My Wiki contributions | Main MODx Documentation
        Forum: Where to post threads about add-ons | Forum Rules
        Like MODx? donate (and/or share your resources)
        Like me? See my Amazon wishlist
        MODx "Most Promising CMS" - so appropriate!
      • Garry Nutting Reply #3, 18 years ago
        Hi ryan tvp,

Well, the best bet is to create the database through cPanel and assign the user to the database from there. And then, run the installer.