We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 8 Posts
    Hi,

I am new to MODx and starting my exploration of this wonderful solution.
    I ran in the following problem.
    I would like to query another database from my 1st custom snippet but could not find the right way to do it...
    It always crashes my modx install : cannot use MODx anymore after using the snippet.

I am starting with this
    $mydb= new DBAPI();
    $mydb->connect($host=’localhost’,$dbase=’mybase’, $uid=’myuser’,$pwd=’mypass’);
    then I have my former sql statements
    $result = mysql_query("select count(*)...

and ended with
    $mydb->disconnect();

I can save my snippet and test it. After test everything is broken.
    I get error messages like the following one :
    Warning: mysql_num_rows(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in ... Passed Id is NaN !

Thanks for your help,

• The DBAPI abstracts mysql_query() calls -- you should be using one of the DBAPI methods, i.e. $mydb->query(), $mydb->select(), $mydb->getValue(), etc.
        • 8 Posts
        After a lot of tries it finally works for my custom snippet : I can use another database !
        Yet I dont feel comfortable with the DBAPI : any error corrupts my MODX instance and I need to reinstall and reload my setup from scratch.

Is this situation normal?
        Is there a way to revert back once MODX corrupted instead of reinstalling ? huh

• Quote from: Honoré at May 04, 2006, 07:24 PM

After a lot of tries it finally works for my custom snippet : I can use another database !
          Yet I dont feel comfortable with the DBAPI : any error corrupts my MODX instance and I need to reinstall and reload my setup from scratch.

Is this situation normal?
          Is there a way to revert back once MODX corrupted instead of reinstalling ? huh