We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 40 Posts
    Hi everybody, I’m a newbie in modx and i like the easy use of it, but:

I have a problem to read the selfgenerated URL to use is in my SQL

First I created a TV with a DATAGRID
    @SELECT 
    CONCAT("<a href='./index.php?id=45&player_id=",t1.player_id,"' title='Detail'>",t1.prename, " ", t1.name,"</a>") as NAME from...

This is what i did:
    1. Format the column as link ( the link is very well created and refers to my Page with the ID=45 and the player_id of the selected row )
    2. I created a SQL via TV which need the PLAYER_ID as WHERE-Parameter and put this TV to my Content-Area on Page with the ID 45

Before i use ModX i coded:
    $player_id=$_GET["player_id"]; 

and passes the $player_id to my SQL:
    ...WHERE player_id = $player_id;

How can i do this in Modx?
    How can i read the given parameter?
    How can i pass the parameter to my SQL Statement?

I read a lot of Documentation and try many different ways to solve my problem, but nothing worked.
    It must be simple but i don’t know how...

Thank you for every hint, tipp,...

I love ModX!
      • 1,495 Posts
      I’m not sure what you’re trying to do, but you can use @EVAL, instead of @SELECT as your TV value. Basically with EVAL, you can run any php code inside TV.

FYI, passing $_GET variable directly to the SQL statement will expose your script to serious security issue that most tech people called SQL injection. Try to filter it first using your own logic to make sure that you got the right data, or you can usse some built in function on PHP.
        Wendy Novianto
        [font=Verdana]PT DJAMOER Technology Media
        [font=Verdana]Xituz Media
        • 40 Posts
        Quote from: Djamoer at Mar 23, 2006, 01:25 AM

I’m not sure what you’re trying to do, but you can use @EVAL, instead of @SELECT as your TV value...
        Hello Wendy,