We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 2 Posts
    Hi,

I’m very new to using MODx, but already very impressed about how clean this CMS is! Really great!

I would like to know if and how it is possible to create detailed review pages with various key points appearing on each article of a given subject, using MODx.

Here’s my current situation :
    I’ve got a friend who has an existing music information and review website (reviewing cds, bands, concerts, festivals, interviews, etc.) ... all kinds of articles.
    There are about 15 editors, writing these articles... and once these articles are accepted by the chef editor, they are published online for all to see.
    At this time, the site has a backend which was specifically developped by the webmaster, for the editors to write about the various topics.

Now Let’s say an editor wants to give all the info and write an article about an upcoming music festival. He will log into the backend and go to the "add a festival page". At that point, he’ll be presented with a detailed form where he’ll enter all the related info. (ex : summary, good points, bad points, price, parking, camping, nearby bars/restaurants, and loads more...)
    Once he submits this, all is stored in a MySQL database.

Then, using a template to call all the info up from the database and display it, the final output page that is visible to the visitor is well structured, item by item.

Is it possible to use MODx for creating such detailed pages (many items)?
    I’m not really sure how to approach this.

My thoughts up to now have been (with my limited understanding of MODx):