We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 17 Posts
    Hello,

at first let me say I’m quite new to modx. I wrote an easy contact form using FormIt. Now I’d like to introduce additional spam protection.

I want to delay the submission of a form by a certain amount of time. Meaning: When somebody opens the contact form until he sends the form, there has to be a certain amount of delay. Otherwise the form is not to be send. I’d like this check to be a custom hook.
    As I don’t have much experience in coding snippets, I’d like to ask if anybody has a solution or a hint for me.
    If we find a solution, it could be included in FormIt on the long run. Just an Idea.

I hope I could convey my request. Any help would be much appreciated. smiley

PS: sorry for my English. It’s not my first language.
      • 24,544 Posts
      If I’m understanding you, you want to reject posts that are submitted too soon after the form is shown. You’d have to store the start time (either in a hidden form field or a $_SESSION variable., then add a hook (ahead of the email hook) that checks that time against the current time.

If it’s a simple contact form, you might look at SPForm, which has that check built in (and some other spam checks as well).
        Did I help you? Buy me a beer
        Get my Book: MODX:The Official Guide
        MODX info for everyone: http://bobsguides.com/modx.html
        My MODX Extras
        Bob's Guides is now hosted at A2 MODX Hosting
        • 17 Posts
        Thanks for your advise. You understood me right I’d like to stay with FormIt.
        I did a little digging in your source code (SPForm). So far I came up with this hook:
        <?php
        /*'timer' is a hidden input element with the value of the first site view (startTime) */
        $startTime = $hook->getValue('timer'); 
        $currentTime = time();
        /*at least 10 Sekunden*/