We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 6 Posts
    Hi all,

I’m kinda new with ModX and I’m not really into PHP. I learn by try-and-mistakes while building my first web site.

Now I’m trying to use the FlexSearchForm and I noticed that on Internet Explorer, when I press the back button from the results page, I get an error message saying that the web page has expired and I must refresh the page. I went to many web sites using ModX to see that every site has the same issue with IE... except one: the main ModX web site.

I’d love to know the magic tricks of the ModX site webmaster.

Thanks a lot!

- Vincent
      • 51 Posts
      Actually, you’ll get this with most (not all, but most) pages on any site that are loaded based on user input. The "warning" is telling you that postdata was added to the page (in this case, the search term) and the browser can’t replicate that postdata, but it would be happy to reload the rest of the page from cache.

I have seen postdata warnings in Yahoo mail, searches on CNN, in Amazon and a gazillion other places, so it’s not a MODx phenomena. Anytime you enter a search term, a username, etc. and try to reload the entry page with a back button, you stand a good chance of getting this browser message.

Why some *don’t* do it is a mystery to me, frankly. The warning makes sense to me...failing to get it doesn’t, lol.

Duane
        • 6 Posts
        Perhaps it’s due to the fact that the search request is done with the POST method, GET being used for passing parameters to ModX for the page id. I’m using SEF with alias and path to imitate a standard static html site, so I guess using the GET method is impossible. I did a stupid thing and tried to hack the snippet by replacing all the "POST" occurences by "GET" and I only had strange behavior produced.