We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 2 Posts
    Hello All --

So I am an absolute beginner in all things MODx, just trying to understand the logic of how chunks and snippets and things come together.

I am trying to build my first form, heavily relying on the example from /assets/snippets/eform/docs/eform_examples.htm

I have following issues:

• The name field is tested for two words, using a regex defined like this:#REGEX /\w+\b\w{2,}/i. I am not a pro when it comes to regular expressions, but it looks sort of ok. Just doesn’t seem to work, though, however many words I have I get a validation error message.
    • what exactly do these eform="..." attributes do in the form chunk? I see things like ’eform="Your Email Address:email:1"’ and have not found any documentation on what this does. I can see it must somehow be related to input sanitation/validation, but how does it work?
    • At last, the validation errors turn up in english - how can I replace them with messages in another language?

I presume it’s me being dumb, but I’m stuck, and I’d be very grateful if somebody could give me a hint or two.

Thanks in advance,
    Marc
      • 1,010 Posts
      The regular expression in the example is wrong. Try this instead
      /\w+\s\w{2,}/i

If that doesn’t work, try it with double backslashes i.e.
      /\\w+\\s\\w{2,}/i

The eform attributes are described in the documentation under the heading "Datatypes and formatting" in eform/docs/eform.htm. Here’s waht it says:

Datatypes and formatting
      eForm is incorporating a form parser which extracts formatting and validation options from each form field. To set options for a field add the eform (pseudo) attribute to each required form field.

<input type="text" name="color" eform="A Color:string:1" />

The basic format of the eform attribute is:
      [description/title]:[datatype]:[required]:[validation message]:[validation rule]