We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 9 Posts
    Hey all,

Wonder if you could help, this is probably a dumb question but please bare with me I’m a noob to modx and YAMS (liking it though!!):

I’m looking to create a site that will have multi-lingual and mono-lingual content and have been investigating YAMS.

I need to have a navigation menu that will only display items if:
    There is content for that menu item in the language of the page currently being viewed (not all content will exist in all languages)

My wayfinder currently looks like this:

[[Wayfinder?startId=`0` &outerTpl=`mh.OuterTpl` &innerTpl=`mh.InnerTpl`&rowTpl=`@FILE:assets/modules/yams/tpl/wayfinder/doc/row.tpl` &innerRowTpl=`mh.InnerRowTpl` &firstClass=`first` &hereClass=`selected`]]

And my InnerRowTpl

<li[+wf.classes+]>
    <a href="(yams_doc:[+wf.docid+])" title="[[YAMS? &get=`data` &docid=`[+wf.docid+]` &from=`pagetitle`]]">[[YAMS? &get=`data` &docid=`[+wf.docid+]` &from=`menutitle`]]</a>
    [+wf.wrapper+]
    </li>

If not possible simply to configure the wayfinder, is it possible to test this [[YAMS? &get=`data` &docid=`[+wf.docid+]` &from=`menutitle`]] to see if it has content and only output if it does. Giving the user the ability to control it, by entering a menu title in the language or not....

Thanks,
      • 805 Posts
      Hi lhanson.

Since you are going to be using both monolingual and multilingual documents, you will need to make sure you are using my latest release candidate: YAMS 1.2.0 RC3. Prior to that the [tt][[YAMS? &get=`data` ...]][/tt] snippet call wouldn’t correctly grab the data for monolingual documents.