We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
  • Hello to everyone here,

I’m new to the MODX communiy and chose to use MODX for my next project. Now, this project is a multilingual one. So a good understanding of the YAMS module will be essential.

I struggled a lot to get things up and running, due to a lack of documentation. Inside the documentation of the module, well call me stupid but I could not understand a lot of it.

I now have a multilingual template, can enter most of the multilingual content and got wayfinder to output the right menu-titles. So its working... smiley

Since I’m new to Modx, i’m just getting arround of using the chunks and snippets. But how do I make a chunk and apply a language identifiers inside the chunks code so that it outputs the correct language?

Can anyone send me an example or something so that I can understand it better?

I would also like a simple language chooser, how do i create such a menu? Right now i got it to work but only by inputting dirrect links inside the template that links to the home page of that language.

Then asside from this problem, when i make a new resource I have tabs named after the languages I configured but all the languages and input fields show up under the first tab. How do I fix that?

Any help will by highly appreciated.

Thijs
      • 805 Posts
      Hi @Thijs.

Welcome to MODx and to YAMS.

Quote from: thijsvandamme at Nov 22, 2009, 08:36 PM

I struggled a lot to get things up and running, due to a lack of documentation. Inside the documentation of the module, well call me stupid but I could not understand a lot of it.
      I agree that there is lots of scope for improving the documentation. Any feedback on how it could be improved would be gratefully received. Which versions of YAMS and MODx are you using by the way?