We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 4,205 Posts
    I am having trouble with a PHx call (within Ditto tpl). What I am trying to do is:
    [+phx:if=`[+tvOne+]`:isnot=``:then=`some html here`:else:if=`[+tvTwo+]`:isnot=``:then=`some other html here`:else=`the last html choice here`+] 

Basically: if tvOne is not empty load some HTML: else if tvTwo is not empty load some HTML: else load the default HTML.

I suspect that I am using the ’else:if’ wrong. Can anyone point me in the right direction? grin
      [font=Verdana]Shane Sponagle | [wiki] Snippet Call Anatomy | MODx Developer Blog | [nettuts] Working With a Content Management Framework: MODx

Something is happening here, but you don't know what it is.
      Do you, Mr. Jones? - [bob dylan]
      • 24,544 Posts
      I’m not a PHX expert at all (full disclosure: I’ve never used PHX wink), but looking at the docs, there’s no "if else" in PHX and the else isn’t really an else, it’s really an else=. T do what you want with just else statements, you’d need the part after the else to be a statement, but it’s not -- it just sets the initial variable equal to something. If you were using a single TV, you could use the PHX select: operator.

It looks to me like you need a snippet (although it should be a *very* simple one). Someone more familiar with PHX may have a better answer.

There may be a non-PHX solution using TVs, although I don’t see it.

I think this would be the snippet you want (more or less):

<?php

$tv1_out = $modx->getTemplateVarOutput('tv1');
      $tv2_out = $modx->getTemplateVarOutput('tv2');

if (! empty($tv1_out)) {
          $output = 'some html';
      } elseif (! empty(tv2_out)) {
          $output = 'some other html';
      } else{
          $output = 'yet some other html';
      }
      return $output;
      ?>

You could make this more generic by sending the tv names as parameters in the snippet call like this: