We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 113 Posts
    So I am throwing around news publisher, not sure if its deprecated or not but I wanted it for a simple question post & answer. A DIY forum so to speak. I got it working to a certain degree between Ditto, NP & Jot, the only problem I am having is that the NewsPublisher form doesnt seem to be adding a a created by name, although it does ad the ID, weird...

SO when I look in the doc manager, it creates the appropriate document, but in the created by field it simply has empty parens. Like this

Created:  	01-04-2009 17:40:02 ()

Now if I log out of the fron end and log in through the front end as a site admin I get this

Created: 01-04-2009 17:40:02 (siteadmin)

I’ve set up a web user group called subscriber, created the permissions group to be able to access the document group and did the whole role set up. Which gets kind of confusing but I think I have all three set up (siteadmin is actually in the same group as the one that doesnt work)

Its looking like its setting everything document & content wise. It may be a permissions thing but frankly that confuses me as well.

Any ideas as to what I should be setting my roles to (I pretty much granted eveyrthing and it still doesnt work. hmmm. thanks in advance.
      • 225 Posts
      Hi,

i have the same problem,

have you succeed to resolve this problem ?

Laurent
        • 24,544 Posts
        The site_content table, which contains the document’s content fields, doesn’t hold the name of the user, just the user’s ID. There’s no creator’s name field to store it in.

It’s easy to get the username from the user table with a snippet that gets the createdby id as a parameter, however.
          Did I help you? Buy me a beer
          Get my Book: MODX:The Official Guide
          MODX info for everyone: http://bobsguides.com/modx.html
          My MODX Extras