We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 12 Posts
    I’m only beginning to grasp how MODx works and everything... so far, I like it very much. It will require some time until I get comfortable with the system, but it won’t be too hard, I think — things seem reasonably intuitive. And the architecture seems incredibly flexible.

I was wondering if it’s possible to set up a hierarchical comments system — like the comments in Slashdot or Daily Kos. Has somebody already done something like that?

What I’m shooting for: posts/stories/whatever that appear on the front page, which get commented on by users, in a hierarchical structure. Once I get that working, I would also like to have a rating system, once again like Daily Kos. For both posts and comments.

An example of what I’m hoping to accomplish.

So, first and foremost, is it doable?
    Hard?
    What techniques should I be looking at?
    Are there already some building blocks I could use?

(I know Forums are supposed to be introduced very soon... but that’s not really what I’m looking for. Once again, the two important criterias: hierarchical comments that are linked to front-page posts.)

Thanks for any help.
    • It should be entirely doable, but I suspect one of the forum integration efforts is more suited to this. Djamoer (Wendy ... and it’s in the masculine sense, btw) is working on integrating Phorum that should suit this purpose perfectly I suspect.
        Ryan Thrash, MODX Co-Founder
        Follow me on Twitter at @rthrash or catch my occasional unofficial thoughts at thrash.me
        • 1,495 Posts
        Quote from: rthrash at Feb 28, 2006, 01:07 AM

It should be entirely doable, but I suspect one of the forum integration efforts is more suited to this. Djamoer (Wendy ... and it’s in the masculine sense, btw) is working on integrating Phorum that should suit this purpose perfectly I suspect.