We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 43 Posts
    Hi all,

First post. I am a newbie at MODx (really all CMS products) although I’ve managed several websites in the past. My experience is what I would call "old school", get a designer to build a template, and then build a site by copying the template over and over again. Most of my experience was with a site built using circa-2000 design practices (a mix of tables and CSS, VBScript navigation, a few small Javascript calls for things like email obfuscation and form validation). I was comfortable managing the site, but it was quite burdensome as the content was integral to the layout, so changes and updates were done using the copy-change-publish routine. Navigation changes also required me to directly modify VBScript includes, which I could do, but it also contributed to inefficiency.

I’d like to use a better mechanism for my new site(s). I am not a designer, so I really need a solution that I can buy a "template" for and then add/remove/move/change pages from some kind of admin "backend". I’ve looked into "CMS" solutions such as Drupal, Joomla!, SilverStripe, MODx, and Concrete. I’ve only actually used Drupal, Joomla, and MODx (and MODx only for a few minutes). I like the idea of being able to use standards based templates for MODx infrastructure, and MODx appears to generate cleaner code and is more friendly to search engines, developers, etc. Those reasons, and the initial simplicity of the MODx admin interface (compared to Joomla) draw me to MODx as my solution.