We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 95 Posts
    Hi everyone,

Since I’m a newbie and a noob when it comes to CSS and MODx and all that good stuff, I need some help I’d like to modify my CSS and/or anything else I need to to make the flyout CSS work on my site. Here is my current info:

My Zipped CSS:
    http://www.tapanime.com/cms/assets/templates/Animetor/animetor-4b.zip

Chunk called MainMenu:
    <div id="leftMenu" class="leftBlock">[[Wayfinder? &startId=`0`&removeNewLines=`1`&firstClass=`first`&lastClass=`last`&hereClass=`active`&parentClass=`parent`&rowClass=`row`&outerClass=`outer`&innerClass=`inner`&levelClass=`level`&selfClass=`self`]]</div>

I’m uncertain on how to take the flyout CSS from the wayfinder zip and make it work on my template. Can anyone show me what I have to do, I’d like to use those graphics for the moment, might want to get rid of the image and just use a background color and such.

Thanks for all who take the time to read this. Peace.
      • 126 Posts
      You need to put the file "flyout_revisited.css" somewhere that it is accessible (probably assets/templates/wayfinder) and then modify your TEMPLATE file to include that CSS file.

The snippet call that you showed wraps everything in a "leftMenu" id and a "leftBlock" class, and so the existing CSS may style those in a way that is incompatible with the "flyout" styling.

I would start with a very basic non-styled Wayfinder menu (even just in the content part of some test page)

[[Wayfinder? &startId=`0`&removeNewLines=`1`]]

then get the "flyout" stuff working and only THEN incorporate it into the left-menu block.

Do one step at a time, and if something breaks, then undo it!

Good luck

Gordon
        • 95 Posts
        Thanks for the thoughts there gfroyle,

I played with it for a bit got things working finally, but brings me another question now...