We launched new forums in March 2019—join us there. In a hurry for help with your website? Get Help Now!
    • 4 Posts
    I am really new to MODx as a matter of fact I only started today with my investigation to see if this cms fits my needs.
    Up untill now it really looks that way except for one part, I cannot seem to find how I can add functionality to the admin section.

My guess is that the modules are the key for this but the documentation does not go into detail about this.

Did I just not search well enough or is this documentation not there yet, and if so is it planned to be written?
    • This is an area that is currently doable, but you have to know what you’re doing. In the next major release, which we’re working very hard on, not only will the manager be totally skinnable, but it will also be able to be easily customized and extended. Look for lots of good stuff through the remainder of 2005 and all of 2006. smiley
        Ryan Thrash, MODX Co-Founder
        Follow me on Twitter at @rthrash or catch my occasional unofficial thoughts at thrash.me
      • Modules are how you would extend the back-end.

I am currently in the process of creating a module for controlling a glossary database that can be accessed read-only by certain Web users from the front-end, and managed from a module. Basically, the module is much like a snippet.

The output of the module is in the right-hand panel of the Manager, just like the built-in functions. I use that as my interface, and otherwise write the application as I would any other PHP application, including files and classes and whatever else I need, into the main module. All of the include files are stored in a folder in the /assets/modules/ folder.

All of the MODx API is available, so a lot of the work is already done as far as document manipulation goes.

So far, this is my module code:

$basePath = $modx->config['base_path'];

// If we cant't find the module files...